omniafui

Overwhelming love for almost strangers

Today a funeral was held for a person that I knew. I saw her 4 or 5 times in my life. Nina, my friend’s cousin, she was only 38, heart attack. I remember the day I first met her, it was 10 years ago. Nina, my friend and I went to cinema to see the Hobbit. After the movie we went for a drink. I remember we were laughing a lot. Nina was then a young professor, in first 10 minutes you could see she had this witty intelligence, she was in love with good books, movies, clever humor and that famous football team from Barcelona. She spoke eloquently, with lots of energy, you could see she really enjoyed expressing her thoughts and ideas. She was one of those people who you meet and you just know right ahead that you won’t forget them soon, one of those people that just leave a mark, you know, not by doing or saying anything special, but just by existing. I was then 10 years younger than Nina, was still in high school and I remember thinking to myself: when I grow up I want to be this kind of a person. After our first encounter, I saw her a few more times at birthday parties and weddings, but we didn’t stay in touch. We were not friends, we were barely acquaintances. Still, hearing that she died made me cry.

This whole situation motivated me to think about people in my life, all of them. I met many, many people in my life but I don’t have many people that I’m close to. Except for my brother, grandparents and two best friends, everyone else is just passengers, just people that come and go. Those passengers are people that are dear to me, most of them are my friends at some point in my life, but still just passengers. Still, all those people left a print, a trail of their existence in my life. Some people that I met only once in my life, have shared with me moments that I still remember, often think about, and know I will never forget. Time is not a factor when it comes to importance. To me, people I met just once are important. What they gave to me, experiences I had with them are important to me. In a way, I feel like I truly love all those people. Love meaning just pure appreciation. They are like memories that you keep from travels, like short journeys to the countryside during the weekend - you remember them forever even tho they didn’t last long and they happened long time ago. I feel gratefulness for meeting all those people that I’ve met and joy because I know I will meet so many more.

Thanks for reading!

if you want you can subscribe to my blog